Virtual Concert & Wine Tasting
Notes of Beethoven

Saturday 8 May 2021
7:30pm – 9:00pm UK time
Beethoven Opus 18 No. 5
Performance by the Cambridge String Quartet
Wine by Grape Britannia
Hosted by Professor Nicholas Marston (University of Cambridge) & Matt Hodgson (Grape Britannia)
Book tickets

Music was not always about sound for Ludwig van Beethoven. As his ears began to fail him, he also used the senses of sight and touch when he was composing. The Cambridge String Quartet invites you to experience Beethoven’s music through another sense: taste! On Saturday 8th May we will be joining forces with local wine company Grape Britannia to put on a virtual event combining wine and music. Grape Britannia owner Matt Hodgson has paired four of his finest British wines with Beethoven’s String Quartet in A major, Op. 18. No. 5, and will lead listeners through a virtual tasting in dialogue with Beethoven expert, Professor Nicholas Marston. The Cambridge String Quartet will offer a fresh take on this fizzing, theatrical quartet, performing each movement alongside a different wine and offering listeners an enriching experience for all the senses!

Quartet/Wine pairings:
I. Allegro: Woodchester Valley Orpheus Bacchus (white)
II. Menuetto: Pinot Noir Précoce 2018
III. Andante cantabile: Element 20 2014
IV. Allegro: Balfour Hush Heath Pink Fizz

Grape Britannia is the leading English & Welsh wine specialist, awarded Best Specialist 2020 in the category by the respected Decanter Magazine. They have curated a range of over 200 exceptional, locally sourced wines to cater for every palate and occasion.

£10 music only
£28 music & tasting package: 3 individual 100ml wine sample bottles and one 200ml can rosé sparkling wine
£70 music & full bottles: 3 full-size wine bottles and one 200ml can rosé sparkling wine
Wine delivery cost: FREE delivery or click & collect within Cambridge. Rest of UK £7.99

Book tickets

Sign up to our email list to hear about more events like this!

Beethoven Quartet Society Online Streams

We’re excited to release details of our upcoming online Beethoven Quartet Society streams! These benefits are now available only to members of our Friends Scheme so if you’re not a member, you can join us now for £5/month! 

Thursday 29 April 2021
7:30pm – 8:30pm UK time
Opus 59 #1

Thursday 27 May 2021
7:30pm – 8:30pm UK time

Thursday 24 June 2021
7:30pm – 8:30pm UK time

%d bloggers like this: